james hardway collective JAMES HARDWAY COLLECTIVE

Lunaticworks is thrilled to have the funked-up genius of the James Hardway Collective bringing creative insanity into your headspace. The release will be a two cd set, the original long play version, instrumental and the 7 inch vocal versions. Available NOW!

Hear two new tracks now! (96 kbps, real):
µ This Life (7 inch version)
µ The Hard Way (7 inch version)

lunaticworks catalog:

  • mayonnaise iii
  • horse noodles what?
  • furry smooth s/t
  • mayonnaise ii
  • tha fruitbat hdad
  • rock weed
  • music for astronauts and cosmonauts
  • Two AM
  • MothSpyEros
  • lisa papineau
  • cordovan Hwy 10 Blues
  • dymaxion daydream
  • James Hardway
  • Skopic
  • Mayonnaise
  • Cordovan
  • Horse Noodles
  • Tha Fruitbat
  • Chachi Jones
  • lunaticworks vol 1
  • lunaticworks vol 2
  • lunaticworks vol 3
  • store
  • site map

visit ye olde lunaticworks gift shoppe

It all started in the nineties, after a night of jungle music in darkest South London. David Harrow was back at the studio at 4 in the morning, dropping Charlie Parker over double timed hip-hop beats, discovering a brand new sound - thus James Hardway was born.

Hardway's first record "CoolJazzMotherfucker" was 'single of the week' in all of the European music papers, setting a precedent by which all jazz drum 'n bass (as the genre would become known) is now judged.

Never one to stay still, Hardway began a musical journey from those early albums, blazing a trail from 180 BPM breakneck jazz through to Cuban/Jamaican/Ragga hybrids to broken beat down-tempo funk.

Nine albums later, still cutting his own path, James Hardway Collective presents Over Easy, a genre-defying jazz funk excursion that echoes the punk-soul of James Blood Ulmer, evokes the spirit of Fela Kuti's epic jams, but is infused with the Cali bounce (no doubt a result of his Southern California relocation), and the sheen of today's R 'n B grind.

James Hardway Collective - comprised of some the finest musicians ever known. Legendary drummer Keith LeBlanc whose credits include the hip-hop beat of the Sugarhill Gang, No Sell Out (a hip-hop deconstruction of a Malcolm X speech) and Tackhead. Funky bass lines from Lunaticworks recording artist Greg Reeves aka Cordovan. Vocal duties are taken to higher levels by the tag-team known as Eyedentity who are the conscious chanteuse D Booker, the daughter of Brazillian jazz legends Flora Purim and Airto Moreira, with 'the flow' provided by her husband Krishna Booker, the son of jazz bassist Walter Booker and godson of Herbie Hancock.

James Hardway Collective - Over Easy

track listings:
1. This Life
2. The Hard Way
3. Watch The Moment
4. Greed
5. Everything and Anything
6. Keep The Flow
7. Pressure
8. Communications