Lisa Papineau Night Moves LISA PAPINEAU "Night Moves"

"The sexy voice behind AIR's "Surfing On A Rocket" and M83's "Teen Angst" brings us one of 2006's most seductive albums. A must have"  -filter magazine

Hear two full-length tracks now! (96kbps, real):
µ Shucking, Jiving
µ Saxophone Calypso

lunaticworks catalog:

  • mayonnaise iii
  • horse noodles what?
  • furry smooth s/t
  • mayonnaise ii
  • tha fruitbat hdad
  • rock weed
  • music for astronauts and cosmonauts
  • Two AM
  • MothSpyEros
  • lisa papineau
  • cordovan Hwy 10 Blues
  • dymaxion daydream
  • James Hardway
  • Skopic
  • Mayonnaise
  • Cordovan
  • Horse Noodles
  • Tha Fruitbat
  • Chachi Jones
  • lunaticworks vol 1
  • lunaticworks vol 2
  • lunaticworks vol 3
  • store
  • site map

visit ye olde lunaticworks gift shoppe
Two videos for your enjoyment:
"Out To You"

"Power and Glory Part One"

Born in Providence Rhode Island, Lisa Papineau was raised in respective wilds of Massachusetts and Vermont.

After a bout of reading too much postmodern literature, Papineau packed up on a whim and moved to Los Angeles. Working with such groups as Fizgig, Fka and SissyBar, and not withstanding the abstraction of the Sting/Metallica folk rock puppet theater Big Enough Umbrella, Papineau then began a collaboration with the composer Tyler Bates. The project was lovingly dubbed Pet.

After the break up of the group, Papineau headed back to Vermont for a much needed hiatus. Upon her return to LA, she co-produced the film Treasure Island. Directed by Scott King, the film was awarded the Special Jury Prize for "Creative Vision" at the Sundance Film Festival.

Soon after, Papineau began a project with The Mars Volta bassist Juan Alderete, called Big Sir. The release of the debut album on Mootron Records was met with a modicum of success, quickly selling out the limited run. Stripping the quiet-storm cliches from an overly familiar sound, these low-fi groove merchants have managed to construct a sonic experience both powerfully intimate and strangely soothing in its nervy splendor. (Flaunt Magazine). A remix album of the original songs soon followed, featuring creative stylings by the likes of Dan The Automator, Sugar (Buffalo Daughter), and Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Ima Robot), among other professional fancypants. Big Sir have recently completed and will release their newest album Und Die Scheisse Andert Sich Immer, in November 2006, with Gold Standard Labs (GSL) records.

Papineau has lent her vocals to such diverse projects as the last two AIR albums (10,000 Khertz, Talkie Walkie), P.O.D's The Fundementals of Southtown, Scapegoat Wax's Okeeblow, Farflung's Belief Module and NinePin Body, and the debut album of Summer at Shattercreek, while also rocking mic and synth for the farewell tour of The Rentals.

2005 featured Papineau singing two tracks each on the M83 Before the Dawn Heals Us January release, and Scenario Rock's Endless Season album. She also made an appearance on the Eenie Meenie Records tribute to electronic music pioneer Bruce Haack, which features her rendez-vous with The Anubian Lights on the track "Walking Eagle."

Recently, Papineau moved to Paris and there, began to write the songs that were to be the body of her album Night Moves. Collaborating with the French musicians Thomas Huiban  and Matthieu LeSenechal, Papineau spent a good deal of time experimenting with ways to strip the lush melodies down to their barest-boned minimal. Night Moves enjoyed an initial limited run in France, and will make its debut in the USA in July 2006, on LunaticWorks (Sony/BMG).

Lisa Papineau - Night Moves

1. Out To You
2. Shucking. Jiving
3. Power And Glory Part One
4. The Quiet Storm
5. The End Of Desire
6. Lp Beat
7. What Are We Waiting For?
8. Call Me Frenchy
9. Saxophone Calypso
10. Power And Glory Part Two
11. Diamonds And Pearls

visit Lisa's official site